• fr
  • nl
  • en
  • de

Quick Search

More Criteria

video Valdelesse


Park des RochesCave of Lorette-RochefortRoadbook  : 9  walks discovering our villages & landscapesThe Han-sur-Lesse Walking MapExplore Val de Lesse - Walking trails - GPSRochefort Tourist TrainExplore Val de Lesse - Walking trails - GPSRoMaNa Road book - 9 walks through character villagesMalagne, the Rochefort ArchaeoparkLesse Brewery - Brasserie de la LesseThe Beauraing Walking MapCastle of Lavaux-Sainte-Anne



Once, the village was essentially agricultural; oats, wheat, potatoes, red beet and fodder were cultivated there. The village also boast a magnificent chapel dedicated to Notre-Dame de la Grâce, shaded by an ancient lime tree, as well as two chapels, one dedicated to Saint Roch and the other to Saint Bartholomew.
On the present territory of the village, the seigneurie de Chaleux, whose original denomination must have been Calaus, was located. The place isn't mentioned anywhere prior to the 15th century and it is written alternatively: Chaloy, Chaleux, Challux. The word is issued from the Celtic radical cal which gave its name to a number of watercourses and villages located along rivers and streams.

Chaleux, located in a curve of the Lesse, is renowned for its prehistoric cavern. The cave, located in a creek of the Lesse, at 18 meters above the river, has supplied us with more than 30.000 hand carved silex, human and animal remains, pottery, and, ...a mammoth's ulna.

The region around Hulsonniaux is of significant interest; in a number of places, there are magnificent panoramas, namely in the direction of the Lesse valley (chaire du curé). The classified site of Chaleux, with its limestone rocks, called the Aiguilles de Chaleux, dominated by the rocky promontory on which the roman camp of Furfooz was established, is particularly stunning.
Hulsonniaux preserved, until the last world war, very old and typical dwellings in cob, which gave it its unique cachet.

In Hulsonniaux usage was made of palanche, this mode of transport was required by the narrowness of the paths that are inaccessible to vehicles.

A long time ago there used to be a bridge over the Lesse in Chaleux, but it was swept away by an ice torrent at the end of the 19th century.

The 15th August 1941, after a preliminary bombing, the Germans occupied the village, took the priest hostage and pilfered the houses. On the 6th of December, 1916, 4 villagers were deported.  


Roadbook discovering villages and landscapes

Discover our new roadbook which contains 9 fantastic walks through the Lesse Valley. This richly illustrated book is rife with anecdotes about the area, and is a great way to learn more about the area's typical geography and eventful past. Discover the Lesse Valley with these 9 loop walks around Celles, Gendron, Hour, Rochefort, Lessive, Wavreille, Vonêche & Froidfontaine, Javingue-Sevry and Revogne!





 Where to eat? Sleep? What to visit?  You will find detailed information about walking, cycling & mountain biking, hotels, bed & breakfasts, restaurantsvisits and events in and around  Hulsonniaux on this website!

If you're looking to contact one of our Tourist Information Offices, please click here.


With our free app “Explore Val de Lesse” you can download dozens of GPS trails (hiking, cycling, mountainbiking...) but also useful information about the area (Where to sleep? Where to eat? What about sightseeing?...). This app is available free of charge from the Apple Store & Google Play Store.





Our resources

Follow Us

The weather in the Lesse Valley

Rochefort [ 25-09-2018 - 13:16 ]